St. Mary's N.S. in a Winter Wonderland - February 2018
Nestled at the foot of the Three Rock Mountain, St. Mary's N.S. Lamb's Cross has a long history. The first school was built in 1841 on the site of a small country hospital and was replaced by the existing iconic, granite-faced building with the green steeple in 1936. As the Sandyford/Stepaside area has grown from a sleepy backwater to a bustling mixture of industrial and residential buildings, the population of the school has grown. As a result, a two storey modern extension incorporating a new entrance and hallway was added in 2011. Throughout the years, St. Mary's has always aimed at having a child-centred approach and a friendly atmosphere and despite the trebling of our pupil numbers in less than ten years, we still take pride in maintaining this ethos. Many generations have attended our school and, as we move ahead in the twenty first century, we look forward to welcoming many more!